On February 11, 2023 residents of West Garden Subdivision Phases 1 and 2 celebrated its Third Barangay Fiesta in honor of its Patroness, Our Lady of Lourdes.

This made possible by the indefatigable coordinating efforts of Ms. Fe B. Pastor, Matanda of the Bigaa Pastoral Council, Our Lady of Lourdes –West Garden Subdivision Phases 1 and 2, Virac, Catanduanes. With that fiesta celebration for three made rendered more austere by the COVID-19 pandemic , WGS now under the jurisdiction and supervision of LGU Virac is distinct and separate from the fiesta celebration of Barangay Bigaa Proper held every August 15-16 every year.

After the procession held in the WGS around 4:00 pm. the mass was held in the plaza in Phase 1 by Rev. Fr. Joey D. Aguilar, Priest-in-Charge , Our Lady of Queen Angels Mission Church. The young travelling priest had to rush back to the occasion after he was given special religious activity reportedly in Mabato, San Miguel Catanduanes, if I’m not mistaken.

The fiesta celebration was highlighted by the joint induction of the Cabos and Cabas, Phase 1 & 2, Youth Organizations and Homeowner’s Association.

PB Hon. Guillermo I. Castilla in his welcome message acknowledged the coordinating efforts and Legworks of the Homeowners Association officers, Youth Organizations and Barangay Matanda, Cabos and Cabas in the adjoining subdivisions. He likewise acknowledged the presence of SB Virac Secretary Ms. Susan Isidoro and Provincial Administrator Kalem Surtida, who both represented Governor Joseph C. Cua who was on official business in Metro Manila. PB Castilla welcomed and acknowledged the presence of Mayor Samuel V. Laynes.

Inducted Youth Association Officers of Phases 1 and 2 officers are: President. : Jouie Talan Vice President: Rex Tabinas Secretary : Caleb Bautista Treasurer: Dixie Bautista Auditor. : John

West Garden Homeowner’s Association (Phase 1) Officers are: President. : Jesus Isorena Vice President: Dominador Tapayan Secretary. : Jesslyn Taway Treasurer: Imelda Tuibeo Auditor : Esperanza San Juan Mass Media Officer: Noel De Leon Board of Directors: none On the one hand, Phase 2 officers are: President. : William T. ALDEA Vice President: Salvador V. Isorena Secretary: Preciosa S. Solano Treasurer: Serenia T. Talan Auditor: Roselle A. Turreda Mass Media Officer: none Board of Directors: 1. Perpetuo A. Pastor Jr 2. Jose S. Rama Jr.

Phase 2 WGS Homeowner’s Association Committees are: Grievance and Ethics: Juan Torreja Audit & Inventory: Cesar T. Icaranom Election: 1. Aurora S. Valeza 2. Ellen Tablizo 3. Michael Rima Membership and Education: 1. Fe B. Pastor 2. Benjamin Qua 3. Teresita De Leon Development and Other Services: 1. Goyeto Nazareno 2. Edgar Panti Finance: 1. Erlinda Villamor 2. Gizela Vega Ways and Means: 1. Lani A. Ilagan Maintenance: 1. Amado Sarte Sr. 2. Roberto Tria Livelihood: 1. Diesebel Cantojos 2. Rose Bongalbal 3. Corazon Sarmiento 4. Salve Atienza Social and Culture: 1. Goyeto Nazareno 2. Marites Templonuevo Peace and Order: 1. Richard Cabrera 2. Amado Sarte Jr. 3. Nicasio Atienza

Lastly, Our Lady of Lourdes Pastoral Council Cabo/Caba are: West Garden 1: Cecilio Barra , No. 1; Bong/Assel Tabirara No. 2; Tess Sarmiento, No. 3; Jimmy/Espie San Juan, No. 4; Banong/ Emy Gonzalez, No. 5; Betting/Norma del Valle, No. 6; Jess Isorena, No. 7; Ely Tolledo, No. 8; and Jun/ Puring Tapayan. (SALVADOR “BUDDY” ISORENA)