President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. is set to lead the distribution of 5,438 land titles and P509.45 million worth of support services projects to farmers of Eastern Visayas region on May 20, 2024, to be held at Tacloban City Convention Center.

Of the 5,438 land titles, 5,400 are electronic titles issued under the Support to Parcelization of Lands for Individual Titling Projects (SPLIT Project), and 38 certificates of landownership award (CLOAs) under the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program (CARP), involving 7,914 hectares of lands located in several towns in the provinces of Leyte/Biliran, Southern Leyte, Western Samar, Eastern Samar, and Northern Samar.

SPLIT Project expedites the subdivision of CLOAs providing individual land titles to agrarian reform beneficiaries (ARBs) who were previously granted land through collective ownership.

About 5,906 ARBs would benefit from this undertaking, signifying the government’s commitment to ensure that the farmers receive legal ownership of the land they till.

During the event, the President will also distribute PhP509.45 million worth of support services interventions to ARB organizations and communities such as farm-to-market roads, PBBM bridges (Pang-Agraryong Tulay para sa Bagong Bayanihan ng mga Magsasaka), irrigation projects and farm machinery.

About P350 million worth of farm-to-market roads would be turned over to the towns of Leyte, Eastern Samar, and Southern Leyte, with corresponding total costs of P200 million, P100 million, and P50 million for each province respectively.

Four (4) bridge projects, with a total amount of P78.172 million, would be turned over to Southern Leyte, Calbayog City, and Eastern Samar. Additionally, a total of P71 million, comprising four (4) irrigation facilities would be entrusted to the provinces of Northern Samar, Biliran, and Southern Leyte.

Furthermore, various farm machinery and equipment, with a total cost of P10.28 million are set to be handed over to the farmers’ groups from Biliran, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte, and Leyte.

Other luminaries who are expected to grace the event include Senator Imee Marcos, House Speaker Martin Romuladez, Agrarian Reform Secretary Conrado Estrella III, and Tacloban Mayor Alfred Romuladez.